The new NFL logo went into use at the 2008 draft.

Image via Wikipedia

I am a football fan. I love the pro and college game. Each year, I have great fun pretending to be a GM, ranking the top players at each position as I would see it to improve my team. I have a pretty good track record with RBs, WRs and TEs, am so-so on QBs, not very good at Defense and have no clue about O-Line. I am eager to “buck the trend” and not follow the herd among my fellow draftnicks. Here are my rankings for Quarterbacks in the upcoming NFL Draft. Feel free to comment.

1. Ryan Mallett, Arkansas

2. Cam Newton, Auburn

3. Colin Kaepernick, Nevada

4. Blaine Gabbert, Missouri

5. Christian Ponder, Florida State

6. Jake Locker, Washington

7. Andy Dalton, Texas Christian

8. Tyrod Taylor, Virginia Tech

9. Ricky Stanzi, Iowa

10. Greg McElroy, Alabama

11. Pat Devlin, Delaware

12. Taylor Potts, Texas Tech

13. TJ Yates, North Carolina

14. Josh Portis, California (PA)

Mallett is the best pure pocket passer by a mile, IMO. Michigan had him as a freshman and let him go – they have pretty much sucked ever since. He and Newton are the only “sky is the limit/colossal busts” in the Draft. Newton has a season for the ages in 2010, but there are many red flags. Gabbert is getting the press, but I just don’t see the production especially in a spread offense like Missouri runs. Ponder looks like a good fit as a West Coast system QB (IE accurate but lacks arm strength). Locker I just don’t get at all; his game is like an inferior Donovan McNabb’s. His accuracy is abysmal but is an excellent runner/athlete. If you want to take a chance on a raw super athlete, I would draft Kaepernick. The combine showed his arm is at least as good as Mallett’s (“laser/rocket arm”), scored 59 tds rushing the past 4 years (20 last year), is a great leader, won big games (see Boise State) and is tough. Tyrod Taylor is like a mini Michael Vick and should be an interesting developmental pick in the late rounds.

