The new NFL logo went into use at the 2008 draft.

Image via Wikipedia

 

One week from tomorrow night the action gets started! It may be the only NFL we get for a while, so be sure to live it up. I know I will be. 🙂  First, some last-minute adjustments to my previously posted rankings.

Taiwan Jones is up to my #6 RB. My spidey-sense tells me he could be the next Chris Johnson; small school guy who looks too skinny but his incredible speed and moves gets him on the field early and then the sky is the limit? I don’t have to guts to put him in the top 5 tough…

I have also made some slight moves elsewhere: Virgil Green up to my #5 TE, Cameron Jordan up to my #6 DE and Ahmad Black up to my #3 S. Now that I’m ready to go out on a limb, my annual bust/bargain lists!

Will be drafted too high/busts:

QB Jake Locker

CB Brandon Harris

DT Nick Fairley

RBs Roy Helu, Shane Vereen, Mikel Leshoure

I am of the opinion that the Redskins are only interested in 2 players for their first pick – the only guys who really fit the Shanahan QB mold – Cam Newton and Jake Locker. PLEASE PLEASE take Locker!  I think he will be a huge bust, mostly because you can’t teach accuracy. I am betting that Carolina takes Newton #1. Harris seems like a decent enough player but not starting caliber. Fairley seems like Haynesworth Jr in every way, good and bad. He would be off my board if I am a GM. DaQuan Bowers is the real wild card – how far will he fall? Leshoure may be the first RB off the board but that would be a huge mistake, IMO.

Will be drafted too low/bargains:

If QBs Ryan Mallett and/or Colin Kaepernick aren’t taken in the 1st round, they are huge bargains

WRs Dane Sanzenbacher, Greg Little, Austin Pettis

S Ahmad Black

RBs Bilal Powell, Graig Cooper, Dion Lewis

Greg Little could be the next TO if he works hard enough – will he? Can’t wait to see what Kaepernick can do in the big leagues. Black is underwhelming in every way you can measure a guy yet he makes play after play after play. I would put CB Ras-I Dowling on this list, but I have a feeling he will be taken in the late 1st/early 2nd round after exceptional post-season workouts. If he has proven to be totally healthy, he could be a star in the making.  

How many QBs will be taken next Thursday anyway? Think only 2 or 3? These teams all need a QB ASAFP with Free Agency/trades/the entire offseason in limbo: Carolina, Buffalo, Cincinnati, Arizona, San Fran, Tennessee, Washington, Minnesota, Miami, Jacksonville, Seattle and I would say Kansas City too.  That’s 12 with an immediate need for a starter or starting caliber backup. I am betting a minimum of 5 QBs in the first round and 8 in the first two. It wouldn’t surprise me to see 6 or 7 taken in the first alone. Basically, in this year of uncertainty, teams cannot afford to wait. All the better for us draft nerds! Another wacky possibility: New England packages some of their 3,000 picks to move all the way up to #1 to grab AJ Green!! As always, feel free to comment with your thoughts.

