Herman Cain has inspired me this past year like none other.  He has become, and will remain, one of my heroes. I hate the decision he made to end his campaign and I truly believe that history will vindicate his character. It is a huge victory for the forces of darkness in this world and I wish he had continued to fight. The fact is that filthy Aliknsy-ite  tactics took his candidacy down. Being completely honest, Cain’s foreign policy positions cost him valuable support also, but we unfortunately will never get to see just how transformative and transcendent a Cain nomination and Presidency would have been. I gave all I had for him in Delaware and nationally, but it was not to be. I had my period of mourning – anger, sadness, the whole enchilada.

So I was left with a conundrum; out of all the flawed candidates remaining, what should I do?  Should I just sit out the primaries and just go full “anti-Obama” in the summer? Should I throw my support half-heartedly behind someone else and hope for the best? The simple fact that I could not escape is this: I obviously cannot allow President Obama to be reelected but I also cannot allow Mitt Romney to be hoisted upon me and the rest of Conservative America as our alternative. As such, I took a hard look at the remaining field. I can never support Romney or Ron Paul. Rick Santorum and Jon Huntsman have no mass appeal and should drop out immediately.  That leaves Michele Bachmann, Rick Perry and Newt Gingrich. I really like Bachmann and think she has done a great job in Congress, but as I predicted months ago, she is a very divisive figure and is prone to gaffes. It is entirely possible that she will finish 4th in Iowa and will drop out afterward and concentrate on getting reelected in Minnesota. That leaves two men I have real problems with for various reasons. I don’t like either of their amnesty stances, I hate the fact that they are both career politicians, the list goes on. But basically, as the 3.5 million debates thusfar have shown, Perry is just not ready for primetime while Gingrich is.  A statement literally unbelievable to me just a week ago, here it is: I am now fully supporting Newt Gingrich for President of the United States.

One of the biggest reasons to support Newt is to have a chance to finish the job We the People sent him to do in the 90s (thanks to Ross Perot) and pass the Balanced Budget Amendment. I am convinced that our financial troubles will never be solved until we pass the BBA and the FairTax, so let’s at least get one starting next year. Another that I always admire in public figures is the courage to speak boldly. Say what you will about him, Newt has one giant set of cojones. So there it is, even given the things I have said about him in the past, it is time for Conservatives to unite behind Newt Gingrich to take down Mitt Romney and then Barack Obama. We may not like our decision in a few years but we know he is preferable to the other two. I will now do everything I can do help Newt 2012 in Delaware and nationally (as MANY former Cain supporters are committing to as well). Won’t you join me?

